Omusoba (オムそば)

Experiment: Omusoba (オムそば)

Introduction:

I don’t know if I have mentioned it before, but I LOOOOVE eggs.  Anything tastes better with eggs don’t you think?  Anyway, I got some egg noodles from my Number 1 Fan’s mom (THANKS Number 1 Fan’s mom!!!), so I decided to make omusoba with the noodles.  In case you’re wondering what “omusoba” is, it’s “omelette soba,” which means soba wrapped in omelette.  Japanese call it “omu-soba.”  Another version would be “omurice.” I think omurice comes before omusoba… but who knows!

Anyways, I used egg noodles instead of soba for this dish.  Feel free to substitute it with soba.

Materials: (serve 2)

egg noodles (portion for 2)
1/2 onion, thinly sliced
2 stalks green onions, cut into 2-inch size
ham (as much as you like)
Oil

2 tbsp worcestershire sauce
2 tbsp okonomiyaki sauce
1 tsp chilli oil
white pepper

2 eggs

Okonomiyaki sauce
Mayonnaise
Nori
Bonito flakes

Procedure:

1) Boil a pot of water.  Cook the noodles until soft.  Drain.

2) Heat a frying pan, put some oil in, then put in the onion and green onions.  Stir fry until the fragrance comes out.  Put in the noodles and ham and cook..

3) Put the worcestershire sauce, okonomiyaki sauce, chilli oil and white pepper in.  Mix well with the noodles.

4) In a small bowl, beat the two eggs.

5) In another frying pan, pour in the 1/2 of the egg mixture.  When the egg is ready, put the noodles in the centre, then wrap the egg around the noodles.  Repeat for the remaining half of the egg mixture.

6) Put the mayonnaise, okonomiyaki sauce, nori and bonito flakes on top.  Serve.

Results:

Discussions:

1) You can use ketchup to substitute the mayonnaise and okonomiyaki sauce.

2) If you don’t wanna wrap the noodles, you can serve it like the picture below: 🙂

,

  1. #1 by virginiaplantation on May 16, 2012 - 2:55 am

    Thank you for a great post! We are opening a bed and breakfast in Virginia soon. I am always looking for new ideas!

  2. #3 by Christine on May 22, 2012 - 7:55 am

    Ooh, omusoba! I knew about omurice, but it never occurred to me that it could be made with noodles! This looks great (and it’s making me hungry)… 🙂

    • #4 by foodlabasia on May 24, 2012 - 2:07 am

      Thanks!!! I actually saw it a long time ago in Asia… forgot where I saw it though! hehe! Either in Hong Kong or in Japan. I thought the idea was great so I made it! 🙂

  3. #5 by Anthony Rastelli on March 26, 2014 - 10:48 pm

    Thank you for this, I was making an Omelette and decided to look up it’s history on wikipedia, found Omusoba in the bottom where they discussed different types of omelettes and did a google search, behold I found your recipe! Thanks so much for this!

    • #6 by foodlabasia on March 31, 2014 - 6:11 am

      I hope you had a chance to try it! 🙂

Leave a comment