Onion fried eggs rice bowl

Experiment: Onion fried eggs rice bowl

Introduction:

I was browsing through cookpad one day, and I saw this recipe. It has two of my favourite foods – eggs and plums, and the presentation of the rice bowl was so good!  I gotta give this recipe a try!  Although it’s a fairly simple dish, it did take me longer than expected to make because of the presentation.  OH well, I guess, pretty presentation does make food taste better!

Materials: (serves 2)

2 bowls of cooked rice
2 Japanese preserved plums
Bonito flakes
Sesame seeds

1/2 onion, thinly sliced
2 eggs
1 tbsp mayonnaise
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp Soy sauce (or mentsuyu)
black pepper (to taste)
7-flavour powder (to taste)

oil

Procedure:

1) Remove the seeds from the plums.  Chop the plums into small pieces.  Mix with rice.

2) In a small bowl, mix the eggs, mayonnaise, sugar, soy sauce (or mentsuyu), black pepper and 7-flaovour powder together.

3) Heat a small frying pan, add oil.  Put the sliced onions in and stir fry until the onions brown a little.  Put the egg mixture in.  Stir fry until the egg is cooked.

4) In a bowl/plate, first put the rice with plum in, and then put the onions and eggs on top of the rice.  Sprinkle bonito flakes and sesame seeds on top.

Results:

Discussions:

1) While I was taking picture of this dish, I suddenly thought of “ochazuke” (お茶漬け).  I think I can totally transform this dish into ochazuke by pouring hot green tea in, and it would still taste good!  Must try next time!

References:

梅おかかご飯の新玉葱の炒り卵のせ. http://cookpad.com/recipe/1705307

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment