Jellyfish with shredded chicken (涼拌雞絲海蜇)

Experiment:  Jellyfish with shredded chicken (涼拌雞絲海蜇)

Introduction:

I don’t like eating hot dishes in the summer, because it makes me feel a lot hotter than I should feel.  While I was looking for something cold to make, I found this shredded chicken dish in a recipe book.  I’ve made something similar to this before (click here for the post), basically you just cook the chicken, shred it,  and mix it with whatever you like.  Hmm… actually now as I’m writing this post, I’m thinking of the another “shredded chicken” dish!  haha!  I didn’t know “shredded chicken” is so popular in Chinese dishes!

Materials: (serve 6-8)

3 pieces of chicken thigh
1/2 carrot, julienned
1/2 cucumber, julienned
1 pack of ready to eat jellyfish
Sesame seeds

1 pack of Ideal Spicy Bake Mix for marinating the chicken
(Or use salt, pepper and Chinese wine to marinate)

Sauce:
1/4 cup sesame sauce
1 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tbsp fish sauce
2 tsp spicy oil
1 tsp ginger juice

Procedure:

1) Marinate the chicken using the spicy bake mix.  Marinate it for 1 hour.  (Or overnight if possible.)

2) Boil a pot of water.  Put the chicken in when water starts to boil, and then when the water boil again, cover the lid and turn off the heat.  Let it sit for 20-30 minutes until cooked.

3) Let the chicken cool and then shred.

4) Prepare the jellyfish as instructed on the package.

5) Julienne the carrot and cucumber.

6) Mix the sauce ingredients in a small bowl.

7) Put the shredded chicken, jellyfish, carrot, cucumber and sauce in a big bowl and mix well.  Sprinkle sesame seeds on top.  (Or you can mix the sesame seeds with the rest of the ingredients.)

Results:

Discussions:

1) This is the ready-to-eat jellyfish that I got from T&T.  I have bought those non-processed jellyfish before… but it took too long to prepare.  It’s easier to use ready-to-eat ones.


2) This is the Ideal Spicy Bake mix that I use.  I like to use it for marinating chicken.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Della on March 23, 2014 - 7:41 am

    Hi everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site, and post is actually fruitful
    in support of me, keep up posting these types of posts.

Leave a comment