Shredded chicken with flat noodles (雞絲粉皮)

Experiment: Shredded chicken with flat noodles (雞絲粉皮)

Introduction:

I have always loved this dish.  I know it is super easy to make, but… I could never seem to find the “flat noodles” that are used in this dish.  The flat noodles used in this dish is not the regular rice flat noodles.  Rice flat noodles is not chewy, but this flat noodles is a little bit chewy.  Later I found out that it’s actually made out of green beans, which is the same ingredient as the vermicelli.  Then I thought of it… YEAH!  they do have the same texture!  It’s just that one is thin and the other one is flat.

Back to my flat noodle hunting story.  I have been to a few different T&Ts at different time and asked if they carry the flat noodles.  Many times the (male) staff didn’t seem to know what I was asking for, or they just said what’s on the shelf is what they have.  Not until a few weeks ago… while I was just cruising through the aisles… I SAW THE FLAT NOODLES!!!  I was SUPER EXCITED!  Of course I got a pack immediately.  So T&T DO carry the flat noodles but… maybe they go out of stock really soon, that’s why I never seem to be able to find them before.

With the flat noodles I found at T&T, I made the shredded chicken with flat noodles.  It’s a pretty “free-style” dish.

Btw… in case you didn’t know… this is an appetizer dish, not a main dish!  But of course you can have it for you main course! 🙂

Materials (serve 4-6):

Half a pack of flat noodles
4 pieces of chicken thighs
1 cucumber
Sesame
Sesame sauce
Spicy oil (optional)

1 pack of Ideal Spicy Bake Mix for marinating the chicken
(Or use salt, pepper and Chinese wine to marinate)

Procedure:
1) Marinate the chicken for at least an hour.  Then either steam the chicken or boil the chicken until it’s cooked.  Shred the chicken.  Let it cool.

2) Follow the instructions on your flat noodles package to cook the flat noodles.  Rinse with cold water after it’s cooked.  Let it cool.

3) Julienne the cucumber.  Julienne as much as you like.  Drain the cucumber.

4) Put the cucumber on a plate, then put the flat noodles on top of the cucumber, and then put the shredded chicken on top of the flat noodles.  Sprinkle some sesame on top.

5) If you like it spicy, mix the spicy oil with the sesame sauce.  Or you can skip this step.

6) Pour the sesame sauce.  Voila!  It’s done!

Discussions:
1) It’s a super simple dish… it just takes a while to get everything ready… you know, shredding and cutting cucumber takes time.

2) The very first time I cooked the flat noodles… I didn’t know that they’d expand SOOO MUCH!!!  I ended up making way too much flat noodles… so don’t be too greedy!

3) The pictures aren’t that nice in this post coz they’re taken from my iPhone… I haven’t touched my SLR for a while…..

,

  1. #1 by Aditty S on August 23, 2013 - 6:36 am

    What type of spicy oil is it. The bottle in the pic next to the sesame dressing has like a creamy consistency so can you just clarify the brand and type. Thank you so mych

    • #2 by foodlabasia on August 23, 2013 - 7:37 am

      Both bottles are actually sesame sauce; I just happened to have two at home so I wanted to take a pic of both sesame sauce.
      I guess I should have said “chili oil” instead of “spicy oil.” I forgot what brand I used back then but the one at home now is by Lee Kum Kee and it just says “chili oil.” I think any kind of chili oil would work… As long as it’s spicy.

Leave a Reply

