Taiwanese Meat Sauce with Mushrooms (台式香菇肉燥)

Experiment: Taiwanese Meat Sauce with Mushrooms (台式香菇肉燥)

Introduction:
Well after I made the Miso Meat Sauce last time… I just fell in love with meat sauce. Not because I love meat in particular, but it’s just SUPER convenient. It’s pretty much good for ANYTHING. If you don’t know what to eat, just make rice or noodles, microwave some meat sauce and Ta Da~ A meal is done.

Anyway, this facebook blogger that I subscribe to… she was making meat sauce too!!! This time she made the Taiwanese Meat Sauce with mushrooms. It looked super yummy… so I decided to make it so that my miso meat sauce won’t be too lonely in the freezer…

You can pretty much order this meat sauce on rice in every TW restaurants. I guess it’s like a basic dish for TW cuisine? Hmm… It’s not hard to make, but it’s a lot of preperation (as the blogger said). This time I only made about 1 kg of pork, but next time I’ll defintely double (or triple) the recipe so that I can freeze up more!

Materials: (serves about 6)
1kg of regular ground pork
6 dried shitake mushrooms
4-6 hard boiled eggs, peeled
1/2 cup finely chopped garlics
1/3 cup deep fried garlic* (which I didn’t use this time, but will try it next time)
1/2 cup finely chopped shallots
Oil

Sauce:
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup cooking wine
1-2 tbsp Five spices powder
1 tbsp rock sugar
1 tbsp peanut butter
syrup**

*You can buy the deep fried garlic in Asian supermarket. I tried making it… but did not succeed. The garlics turned bitter. I think it’s better to buy it than to make it. Oh well… maybe it’s coz I’m not skilled. Please let me know if you know any tricks on how to deep fry garlic!

*Syrup: In a small pot, heat up 2 tbsp sugar and 1 tbsp water. When the sugar caramalized, i.e., changes colour to brown, add another 1/4 cup of water. Watch out coz the water splashes! You can take a look at the picture below. The top right corner is the syrup that I made.

Procedure:
1) Soak the dried shitake mushrooms for a few hours (or over night) until soft, cut them into small pieces.

2) Heat up a pot. Add some oil in, and then put in the finely chopped garlics and shallots. When the fragrance comes out, put the ground pork in as well.

3) Put the mushroom, deep fried garlic, soy sauce, cooking wine, five spices powder, rock sugar and peanut butter in. Mix well.

4) Put in the syrup.

5) Put the peeled hard boiled eggs in as well. Make sure that the sauce can cover the eggs and everything. Add more water if needed.

6) Turn the heat to low, cover the lid and let it cook for about 1 hour. Stir occasionally to prevent it from sticking.

7) Cook until the liquid has dried up.

Results:


Meat sauce on rice with a marinated egg


Meat sauce on noodles

Discussions:
1) The blogger suggested using pork belly for this dish. I follwed her suggestion, and… I don’t think I’ll ever do it again becuase a) pork belly is actually more expensive than ground pork, b) I had to cut out so much fat from the pork belly… which made the “meat portion” even more expensive, and c) it took me so long to cut the pork belly into small pieces.

2) For the cooking wine, the blogger suggested Shaoxing wine. I don’t have it at home, so I used sake (Japanese wine). But then my co-worker told me that there’s a certain taste and fragrance to the Shaoxing wine, and it’s cheap. I’m gonna buy it and try next time I make it.

Reference:
The blogger did an exellent job in writing the recipe and taking pictures of the cooking process. Definitely go take a look!

1) Facebook page

2) Blog

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

