Miso meat sauce on rice (肉味噌ご飯)

Experiment: Miso meat sauce on rice

Introduction:
Hmm, latelyI’m trying to make some dishes that would last me a few days, or something that I can make lots and put in the freezer for a while without loosing much taste.  Well, meat sauce came into my mind.  I have made miso meat sauce before, but I lost the recipe, so  I searched on Cookpad to find the recipe.  Well, I found lots of recipes on cookpad (actually, what can’t you find on cookpad?).  I found that many of the recipes include soy sauce, sugar, sake, mirin, and of course, miso paste.  The proportion varies from recipe to recipe.  Well, I just took the “average” and added the leftover seasoning in my fridge.  The result?  Good good! hehe!  And I have enough leftover to put in the freezer! 

Materials: (serve about 6)
1-1.5 lbs ground pork1.5 tbsp sugar

1.5 tbsp finely chopped shallot
1.5 tbsp finely chopped garlic
1.5 tbsp finely chopped ginger

1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp sake
1 tbsp mirin
1 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp miso

Oil

Rice
cuccumber, thinly slice

Procedure:
1) Turn the heat on high.  Pour about 1 tbsp oil in a frying pan.

2) Put in the shallot, garlic and ginger.  Stir until you can smell the fragrant, then put the pork in.

3) When the pork is almost done, put in the soy sauce, sake, mirin sugar and miso. 

4) Turn the heat to medium, and let it simmer.  Stir occasionaly.

5) When the liquid has evaporaated, it’s done!

6) Put rice on a plate/bowl, then put the cuccumber on rice, and then the meat sauce on rice.

 

Results:

 

Discussions:
1) You can add an onsen egg on top to add more “flavour.”  I loooove eggs!

2) You can put this sauce on top of steamed veggies, or stir fry veggies with this.  Or you can put eggplants into this sauce as well.  It’s pretty versatile!  That’s why I like this sauce.

3) The proportions of the seasonings and sauce are quite… arbitrary.  If you like it sweeter, you can add more sugar, or if you like it spicier, you can add more ginger. 

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by soto on August 26, 2011 - 10:11 pm

    how would you suggest reheating it? Just microwave, or on stovetop? I’m finding myself thinking to the start of the new school year and in need of lunches, too

    • #2 by foodlabasia on August 28, 2011 - 5:07 pm

      I just microwave it… Quick and convenient! Hehe!

  2. #3 by Elsie Hui on May 7, 2012 - 8:43 pm

    what a great idea! I’ll make this soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

