Coconut noodles with mango sauce

Experiment: Coconut Noodle with Mango Sauce

Introduction:
Have you ever thought about having noodles for dessert?  I had never thought about it, until my dear friend, Miss S, sent me a recipe for making “coconut noodles.” Well, it’s not as difficult as it sounds.  What you need are jello mix, mango, and a tool to make dessert.  Ok, I lied.  The original recipes asks for more stuff.  But who wanna make things more complicated when it can be done in a few steps, right?

Materials:
a box of coconut gelatin dessert mix, which you can find in Asian supermarket
1 mango, diced into small pieces
sesame seeds
shredded coconut (optional)

Mango sauce:
1 mango, diced into pieces
2 tbsp milk
1 tbsp honey 


This is the coconut gelatin dessert mix that I bought. 

Instructions:
1) Follow the instructions on the coconut gelatin dessert mix box.  Pretty much it means boil water, when water boils, pour in the package.  Mix until dissolve.  Pour the liquid in a mold.  Put in the fridge until it solidifies.

2) While you’re waiting for the jello/pudding to solidify, you can prepare the mango sauce.

3) Put all the mango sauce ingredients in a mixer, and mix until it becomes smooth.

4) When the coconut jello/pudding is ready, cut the jello/pudding into long blocks – the size that would fit in the kokoroten maker*.

5) Put the coconut jello through the kokoroten maker, and push.  Tada!  The coconut noodles come out the other end!  🙂 

6) Put the diced mango on the noodles, then put the sauce on top of the noodles. 

7) Sprinkle the sesame seeds (and/or shredded coconut) on top.

 

Results:

 

Discussions:
1) Kokoroten is a Japanese dish.  Traditionally it’s made with Kanten (or agar agar).  I have never had it myself, but I have seen many pictures of it.  The idea of making jello into “noodles” is very intriguing, so I decided to try it myself.  Instead of using the traditional kanten, I’m using coconut jellow.  If you wanna see how kokoroten is made, you can go to here.

2) The original recipe is actually coconut “flat noodles.”  You’ll have to mix coconut milk, water, sugar and konnyaku powder together to make it into coconut jello.  I couldn’t find konnyaku powder in Vancouver, so… I bought the powder mix that I showed above.  OH and to make the flat noodles, you put a big piece of saran warp onto a baking sheet (with edges of course), then pour the liquid onto the baking sheet.  Remember it has to be THIN!  Then when it solidifies, your take the “noodle” out and then cut them into thick slices. 
Yeah I think it’s hard to imagine how it looks like.  If I ever make it again, I’ll definitely post it up here! 🙂

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Christine on August 9, 2011 - 9:25 pm

    Wow, I love this idea for sweet noodles! It looks delicious!

    Do you know where in Vancouver I could buy a kokoroten maker? Maybe Yaohan or T&T?

    • #2 by foodlabasia on August 9, 2011 - 10:44 pm

      I bought mine at Daiso at Aberdeen Centre in Richmond. I don’t remember seeing it at T&T, but you can try Yaohan. They might have it. 🙂

  2. #3 by Your #1 Fan on August 10, 2011 - 2:06 am

    WOW! THAT LOOKS AMAZING!!! Gorgeous photo too. Will you make it for me when I come home?

    • #4 by foodlabasia on August 10, 2011 - 3:21 am

      Of course! You are my number 1 fan afterall! But we might have to think of mango alternative Coz I haven’t seen fresh mangoes for a while!

    • #5 by Christine on August 10, 2011 - 4:04 pm

      Daiso! Of course! I’ll have to check it out next time I’m there. 😀

  3. #6 by sophia on March 13, 2014 - 1:44 am

    i followed the instructions on the jello put it never became solid…do you know how longed you waited for it to set?

    • #7 by foodlabasia on March 13, 2014 - 2:21 am

      Mine just took a few hours… Which brand did you use???

Leave a Reply

