Cranberry Orange Scones

 

Experiment: Cranberry Ornage Scones

Introduction:
I dunno why, but lately I’m into baking.  One night I just suddenly wanted to make scones.  I had dried cranberries at home, so  I googled up “cranberry scones recipe”.  I found this recipe and made it that night.  It was super easy and yummy!  Well so here I go again – I made it this morning for breakfast.  I didn’t make the glaze nor the orange butter.  I don’t like sweet stuff in general… Yeah I know, I’m weird.  But just to clarify, I DO eat sweet stuff, it’s just that I don’t like to make it myself, nor I’d buy it.  Ok enough talk!

Materials: (modified)
2 cups all-purpose flour
7 tsp sugar
1 tbsp grated orange peel
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup butter (room temperature)
1 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup half-and-half cream
1 egg
1 tbsp Orange pulp (optional)

Topping:
1 tablespoon milk
3 tsp sugar

Procedure:
1) In a large bowl, combine the flour, 7 teaspoons sugar, orange peel, baking powder, salt and baking soda. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs; set aside.

2) In a small bowl, combine the cranberries, orange juice, cream, egg and orange pulp (optional).  Mix well.  Add to flour mixture and stir until a soft dough forms.

3) On a floured surface, gently knead 6-8 times. You can either scoop the dough out to make small scones, or pat the dough into an 8-in. circle. Cut into 8 wedges.

4) Put the scones on an ungreased baking sheet. Brush with milk; sprinkle with sugar.

5) Bake at 400° for 12-15 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove to a wire rack.

Results:

 

Discussions:
1) After the orange zest, I didn’t know what to do with the orange.  That’s why I took the pulp and added it into the dough.  It made the scones a little bit more orangy.

2) The original recipe says it yields 10 scones.  I think it’s a little bit too small to make 10, so that’s why I said cut the circle scone dough into 8.  One piece is a good size for breakfast. 🙂

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

