Picnic Bento

 

My blogger friend from Hong Kong came over to Vancouver a while ago.  She said she has seen pictures of my bento boxes, and she wanted to try it.  Well… she also said that it wouldn’t be fun if we eat it at home.  She suggested to go to a park to have a picnic.  We then decided to go to Central Park in Burnaby.

 

 

I pretty much just prepared the bento, and she took care of everything else.  She’s really into beautiful stuff… so when I arrived and started to set up the table with her… Wow!  Everything was so pretty!  She even brought stuff just for the LOOK! hehe!

 

 

I really enjoyed the picnic! 🙂 Everything was so pretty!  I think next time I go picnic, I know what to bring to give that “picnic” look. 🙂

Anyways… let’s talk about the bento box.  I had a hard time deciding what to make and how to arrange the food nicely.  I just bought a lot of food for the bento, and then made it and arrange to see what fits in the box and what doesn’t.  I find that “making” the food didn’t take long, deciding on what to put in and arrange the food nicely actually took me longer.  I think with practice, it’d take me less time to “design” a bento box.  Oh in case you’re wondering how long it took me to finish these 3 tiers… Hmm I think I started at 7:30 and everything was ready by 11:10.

 

First tier – Inari suhi and Onigiri:

 

Second tier – Heart shaped tamago yaki, blueberry jam ham pinwheels, quail eggs, strawberry tomatoes and bear/star shaped fishcakes.

 

Their tier – Straberries, Strawberry tomatoes, mandarin oranges and edamame

 

 

 

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Hiragana Mama on June 14, 2011 - 9:42 pm

    Looks amazing!! I hope I’m invited next time 🙂

    • #2 by foodlabasia on June 16, 2011 - 11:42 pm

      Hehe let me know when you’re in Vancouver!

  2. #3 by Christine on June 16, 2011 - 7:16 am

    I’m likin’ your blog, and totally jealous of your picnic! But seriously — how did you manage not to get rained out? June has been the pits around here this year. >__<

    • #4 by foodlabasia on June 16, 2011 - 11:43 pm

      Summer’s good here… we have lots of rain in the fall and winter months!

Leave a Reply

