Purin (プリン)

 

Experiment: Purin (プリン)

Introduction:
When I went over to Ms. K’s place a few weeks ago … all of a sudden she said she was craving for purin and wanted to make it.  It just happened that she had all the ingredients at home, so we ended up making it.  After that… I just fell in love with purin!  I loved it so much that… I ended up making it a few times at home too.  hehe!  OH well… if I didn’t need to use so much sugar (i.e. fattening), I don’t mind having one every day! I followed the recipe here, but I use less sugar than the recipe posted.

Materials: (serve 4-6 cups)
Syrup:
6 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp water

Pudding:
2 cups milk
1/2 cup sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
butter

Procedure:
1) Butter the pudding molds.  It helps the purin to slide out easily.

2) Put the sugar and water in a small sauce pan.  Heat it up and simmer until the sauce is browned.  Then add 1 tbsp of warm water to thin the sauce.  Watch out cause it might cause the syrup to splash! 

3) Pour the syrup into the molds.  Do it quick before the syrup hardens!

4) Put milk and sugar in a pot and heat to about 60°C.  Don’t let the milk boil!  Otherwise the milk will loose its taste.  Remove from heat when the sugar is completely dissolved. 

5) Add the vanilla extract and mix well.

6) Beat the eggs in a medium bowl.  Slowly pour the warm milk in the egg mixture.  Stir the egg mixture while you pour the milk in to lower the temperature of the mixture.  You don’t wanna cook the egg!
(Don’t put the egg mixture in the warm milk… coz it might actually cook the egg.)

7) Run the egg mixture through a strainer.  It makes the purin smoother. 

8) Pour the egg mixture in the molds.  Use tin foil to cover the molds, so that the water won’t drip onto the pudding while steaming. 

 

9) Turn it to high heat first.  When the water boils (i.e., steam starts to come out), TURN DOWN the heat to medium low.  If you keep using high heat through out, you’ll have lots of bubbles in/on your purin.  NOT PRETTY!  It takes about 30-45 minutes for low heat steaming.

10) Turn off the heat when it’s done.  Cool it… and serve! 🙂

Results: 

Discussion:
1) I can’t emphasize enough… you will need to use medium to low heat to steam if you don’t want bubbles on your purin! The very first time I used high heat all the way through… it was very “holey.”  Then the next time, I used medium heat, and there were bubbles still.  You can see in the “result” picture..   I learned that you actually have to use medium low heat.  Steam longer over low(er) heat, and you’ll get very pretty purin.

2) If you’re not sure if your purin is done, check the syrup at the bottom of the molds.  If it’s done, the syrup will become very liquidy and you can actually see small bubbles between the syrup and purin.  If it’s not done… the syrup is still hard like candy.

 3) I actually like the syrup a little burnt… so I let the syrup boil a little longer than you usually would.  I don’t actually like sweet stuff… hehe!

, ,

  1. #1 by soto on May 28, 2011 - 4:14 pm

    The containers in the first picture are super cute! Where did you get them?

    I love the texture! You can also make it with evaporated milk.

    If you’re making a lot, you can also cook it in the oven in a water bath.

  2. #2 by foodlabasia on May 28, 2011 - 5:40 pm

    I got them in hk! I wish I could get a few more of those. I think I will try those Purin cups from Daiso….
    How do you do it with evaporating milk? Me never tried….
    I’m planning to make chocolate Purin next! Hehe!

  3. #3 by soto on May 31, 2011 - 6:44 pm

    nice!
    you basically use evaporated milk instead of milk. That’s what the Spanish use in their flan

Leave a Reply

