Pork Hock Jelly (豬腳凍)

Experiment: Pork Hock Jelly (豬腳凍)

Introduction:
I heard about this dish in a Taiwanese show the other day.  The guests were talking about how good it tastes, and how good it is for the skin (apparently pork hock is very rich in collagen, and it’s good for skin).  Well, I found this recipe in a forum yesterday, and it looked pretty easy to make.  So… I gave it a try.  Oh btw… I didn’t quite follow the recipe in the forum… I just put the stuff that were mentioned in the recipe in… and then add a few other stuff that I thought would taste good in it.  And… Everything was approximate… since i didn’t really measure what I put in… hehe!

OH I think I forgot to mention… this dish is supposed to be a cold appetizer! not dessert!

Materials:
1 pack of pork hock (approximately 1.5kg, bones included)
few cloves of garlic
few slices of ginger
2-3 anise
2-4tbs spice ginger powder* (沙薑粉)
2-3tbs fish sauce
3tbs sake
2tbs mirin
1tbs soy sauce
1 medium rock sugar
1tbs black sugar
1tbs salt

*I’m actually not too sure what the proper translation of 沙薑粉 is, literally it says “sand ginger powder,” but I’ve seen “spice ginger powder” in a cook book. 

Procedure:
1) Boil a big pot of water.  When the water boils, put all the pork hock in.  Let it boil for 2 -5 minutes, then turn off the eat.  You’ll see lots of dirty stuff that comes out from the pork hock.

2) Discard the water.  Wash the pork hock until no dirty stuff is still stuck on the pork hock.

3) Wash the pot.  This time boil water just enough to cover the pork hock.  When the water boils, put all the ingredients in.  Make sure that the water is enough to cover the pork hock, but not too much water.  We’ll need to use the stock later, so you don’t wanna dilute the taste too much.

4) When water boils again, turn down the heat to medium.  Let it simmer for about 1.5 hours, or until the pork hock is soft.  In the mean time, try tasting the stock to see if the taste is good.  Add whatever you like to enhance the flavour.

5) When the pork hock is done, take it out and let it cool a bit.  You’ll then need to debone the meat/skin, and cut them into small pieces.  (Oh yeah… it can take a while… thank God I had youtube, I was watching youtube and deboning at the same time). 

6) Discard everything in the stock.

7) Place the already cut up pork hock in a container of your choice, and then pour the stock in. 

8 ) Let it cool, and then put it in the refridgerator for at least a few hours.  When it becomes jelly, it’s done.  Cut it up into cubes, chunks or slices… or whatever shape you like. 

Results:

 

Discussions:
1) Turned out that 1.5kg of pork hock is a lot.  I ended up making 1 big bowl and 1 small bowl of jelly.  I’ve already cut the jelly from the big bowl into big chunks… the small bowl… I haven’t decided on what to make with it yet.  (see pictures from above)

2) I’ve seen people cut the jelly up into squarish shape, or round shape.  You can make whatever shape you like, and cut it up to whatever shape you like.  OH maybe heart shaped jelly for Valentine’s day? 😛

3) I actually took some pictures of the pork hock in a pot, and what it looks like after it’s boiled… but i think the pictures might actually scare some people… so I decided just to put the pictures of the finished products out… 🙂

, , ,

  1. #1 by soto on April 15, 2011 - 6:57 pm

    LOL! I know what you mean about pictures scaring people!
    This sounds like a lot of work. Did you like the taste? Did you use any sauce?

  2. #2 by foodlabasia on April 15, 2011 - 8:52 pm

    I actually like the taste of the jelly. I think the anise brought a lot of flavor to the jelly. Loved it.
    Hmm I asked my co-workers who have actually tried the dish. They said you can dip the jelly in vinegar to give it more taste. I didn’t try it with white vinegar though…
    Actually the next day I was making udon, and I didn’t know what soup base to use… I just threw in a few jelly to give the soup more flavor… Hehehe! It’s quite convenient.

  3. #3 by Profit Web Systems on June 29, 2013 - 2:54 pm

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something
    that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to
    get the hang of it!

  1. cpa review course ratings
  2. EMERALD DROP EARRINGS

Leave a Reply

