Japanese style braised pork (豚の角煮)

I made this Japanese style braised pork (豚の角煮)the other day.  Hmm… I searched the recipe on Cookpad, and I saw that many recipes requires a pressure cooker, which I don’t have.  Many recipies also ask you to put them in the fridge for a night.  I think it is to let the fat solidify and then get ride of it (My Japanese is very limited, that’s what I get from reading those recipes).  Well I didn’t do any of those things…  (I don’t have a pressure cooker nor the time for it to sit through the night) I simply just boiled the pork for an hour.. and… that’s it.  The pork was ok, not super tender.  Flavour was OK though.  Hmm I’ll definitely give it a try again next time!  Time to brush up my Japanese!

, ,

  1. #1 by soto on January 18, 2011 - 11:38 pm

    I didn’t realise that that was Japanese style. My mom makes that all the time, but I never really saw it in restaurants, so I just assumed it was either Vietnamese or Chiu Chow. She pronounced it “kawh” pork, which I assume means “braise” in English, or “mun” in Cantonese.

    I always LOOOOOVED the eggs, though. ^^

    • #2 by foodlabasia on January 19, 2011 - 12:51 am

      Yeah the eggs were super good! Me loved it a lot! I will try making it the bight before next time… Actually don’t think I’ll make it again in the near future.. The pork was really fat! (it was good though! Hehhe!)

Leave a Reply

