Stew in bread bowl

Experiment: Stew in bread bowl

Introduction:

I’ve tried something like this in those Hong Kong style cafe.  I always wanted to try to make it, but then, I couldn’t find unsliced bread.  Until few days ago I went to Cobs, I saw that they sell loaf of bread unsliced.  Then I bought a loaf home and made this dish.

Materials:
A loaf of bread, unsliced
1 can of Campbell’s soup, cream of (something).  I used cream of mushroom
1 carrot
1 onion
1 small bag of button nushroom
half can of corn
Ground pepper
Cheese (optional)

Procedure:
1) Wash all the vegetables.  Cut the carrot into small bite size pieces, thinly slice the onion, and cut the mushrooms into small pieces

2) Heat up a frying pan, put all the vegetables in and cook until soft.  Add the cream of mushroom in, stir.  I didn’t add any water, because the mushroom I used released enough water to make the soup thin enough.   You can add milk if you want.  Let it simmer for 10-20 minutes.  Add corn in the last 5 minutes.

3) Cut the loaf of bread in half.  (Mine was small so I cut in half.  If yours is a big loaf, you can cut it in 3 or 4)

4) Cut a small square in the middle and take the white part out.  You can toast the white part or make french toast with it! 🙂

5) When the stew is ready, put the stew in the bread bowl.  If you have shredded cheese, sprinkle them on top of the stew.

6) Bake the bread bowl until the cheese melts.

Results:

Discussion:
1) It’s pretty easy! hehehe!  Me and Mr. Clam both liked it. Easy enough.  Next time if I have time I think I’ll make the stew from scratch instead of using canned soup.

2) Since now I know that I can buy unsliced bread, I think next thing I wanna try is those super thick toast that you have at Taiwanese bubble tea places! 🙂  I’m gonna look for recipes now!

, , ,

  1. #1 by soto on November 6, 2010 - 5:29 am

    love it! and homemade stew is the bomb!

Leave a Reply

