Wonton

Experiment: Wonton

Introduction:
I’m on holiday this week, so I have time to make something that requires some time.  Since I had always wanted to make wonton, so I went to T&T to buy all the ingredients this morning.

Materials:
1 pack Wonton wraps
500g Bak Choi (I used Shanghai Bak Choi)
250g ground pork*
125g shrimp
2 dried shitake mushrooms
1 egg

1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp white pepper
1 tsp sesame oil

1 can of chicken stock
Chopped green onions (optional)

Procedure:
1) Soak the dried mushrooms for a few hours, or until soft.

2) Wash the bak choi.  Boil it until soft.  Drain the water, and chop the bak choi into small pieces.  (I used a chopper) 

 

 3) Put the chopped bak choi on cheese cloth or clean cloth.  Wrap the bak choi, and squeeze out all the water.  Hmm… after this process, you’ll have roughly only 250g bak choi left… >.<

4) Shell and devein the shrimps.  Chop unitl it becomes like a paste.  (again, I used a chopper)

5) Cut the dried shitake mushroom into small pieces.

6) Put the pork, bak choi, shrimp paste, dried mushroom, egg (not shown in the pic), salt and white pepper in a big bowl.  Then stir the mixture in one direction.  Mix until it becomes one paste… that means the mixture won’t fall apart. (I think it took me a few minutes)  Then let it sit for 10 minutes. 

7) Ok here’s the wrapping part:

7.1) Put some mixture on the wonton wrap.
7.2) Fold the wonton wrap in half.  If your wrap doesn’t stick together, use water to help “glue” the wrap together.
7.3) Then fold it in half again.  (fold hot dog)
7.4) Then wrap it around so that the 2 ends meet.
7.5) Stick one side on top of the other side (use water if they don’t stick together)

 

 After… I don’t know how long:

8) Boil a big pot of water.  When water boils, put the wontons in.  When the water boils, pour one cup of cold water in the big pot.  Now when the water boils again, and the wontons are floating, they’re ready to eat! 🙂  Put as much as you like in your bowl.

9) OK now… you can boil a can of chicken stock.  If you like, you can add some ginger, garlic, shallots and whatever you like in the chicken stock; it brings out the flavour. 

10) Pour the chicken stock into the bowl.  Sprinkle the chopped green onions on top.

Results:

Discussion:
1) *I tried making wonton with ground lean or extra lean pork.  It didn’t taste good at all – the meat was too dense.  I’m not sure if it’s coz I don’t know how to make good wontons, or… lean and extra lean pork are not good for wontons.  Anyways, I highly recommand using regular ground pork.  That fat in the pork won’t make the meat so dense or firm.

2) You can put the leftover wontons in the freezer; they can stay in the freezer for a while. 🙂  So it’s a good idea that you make a big batch, and freeze the leftover! 🙂

3) My friend once told me that… you can put whatever you like in wontons!  I think next time I’ll try with chives and woodears!  ^_^

  1. #1 by soto on June 30, 2010 - 12:23 am

    wow! you are so patient! Will and I just bunch them up into purses.

    • #2 by foodlabasia on June 30, 2010 - 4:07 pm

      Haha you know what, I kinda regret making it into nice shape after the 10th…. It toook me sooooo long to finish the whole pack! But I’m sure I used the wrong wrap….. Those you have outside are bigger wraps and should be easier to wrap

Leave a Reply

