Tuna Mayo Rice Bowl (ツナマヨご飯)

Experiment: Tuna Mayo Rice Bowl (ツナマヨご飯)

Introduction:
My friend, Miss S, was telling me about a dish that she saw in a Japanese recipe magazine. She highly recommends it, coz it’s quick, cheap and yummy. Well, doesn’t it sound “cheapickdorable?” hehe. Anyway, I think this dish is great for summer coz you don’t need to turn on the stove at all! Oh, provided that you have a rice cooker of course. :P

Materials: (serves 2)
2 bowls of rice
1 can of tuna
a few stalks of green onions, finely chopped
mayonnaise (as much as you like)
Salt and pepper to taste
2 eggs

sesame seeds
shredded seaweed

Method:
1) In a small bowl, mix together the tuna, green onions, mayonnaise, salt and pepper.

2) Put the rice on top of a plate, then half of the tuna mayo on the rice.

3) In a small cup, crack the egg in, and then pour tap water into the cup. Just pour enough to cover the egg. Microwave it for about 20 seconds, or until it’s cooked on the outside and runny on the inside. You might actually have to test it coz everyone microwave is different. OH and I find that the container makes a difference too! So it’s better to microwave it for shorter time first then slowly add 5 seconds at a time. Anyways… you can try it at home.

4) Put the egg on top of the tuna mayo.

5) Sprinkle as much sesame seeds and seaweed on top as you like.

;

Discussions:
1) I think this dish took me like… 5 minutes to complete?

2) It’s a cheap dish!!! Miss S told me that one time she got her tuna for $0.49, and that was quite recently. So this meal would cause her about $1.00 and it feeds two people! So cheap. I’ll remember to stock up on the tuna next time it goes on sale.

;

;

;

;

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Christine on August 13, 2011 - 4:12 pm

    I love tuna, I love egg, I love rice, so this looks delicious!

    But omigawd — where can you buy canned tuna for 50¢ in this city? I’ll go get enough to last me through a zombie apocalypse!!

    • #2 by foodlabasia on August 13, 2011 - 6:03 pm

      Haha it’s not easy to find that $0.49 a can of tuna! I think she got those at shoppers as sometimes Shoppers have food on sale!

      Costco is pretty cheap too so I think I’ll go and check ontheir prices.

  2. #3 by #1 Fan on September 2, 2011 - 6:45 am

    That sounds like a Miss S dish.
    Like pi dan tofu. hahaha… No cook-5 min-raw.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

